Play Report- To Honour and Obey

Hey there! Doing my first AP in a while and my first in substack! Today I’m playing To Honour and Obey by Laurie O’Connel.

From the product page: “To Honour and Obey is a solo game about an Arthurian wife at home. 

Your husband has left you, pregnant with his heir, to answer the call of adventure. 

But you are surrounded by wolves, and you will need to use all the skills and ingenuity you have to survive. 

You will use Tarot cards to play, generating prompts to guide you through your story. The game is played in four Acts, themed around the four suits you will draw from as you try to scrape together resources to vanquish a powerful, cunning enemy.

Some notes:

  • I don’t (for the most part) copy any of the prose/prompts from the book because I think it’s all great, and you should read it.
  • I have a section at the end citing and explaining some of my Arthurian choices at the bottom of this post if you're interested in that.
  • Sensitivity editing and Arthurian editing by my wonderful partner
  • I’ll post my thoughts and a brief review of this game at a later date

Lady Isabel

Strength: The Sun - Clarity in problem-solving; I can make quick and, oft’ times, effective decisions under considerable and even life-threatening pressure.

Enemy: The High Priestess - A secret mystical cabal attempting to destabilize and eventually overthrow Arthur. Their existence is known, and its members are thought to be everywhere.

Act I: Pentacles

My husband is setting off on some chivalric adventure to fight evil, leaving me alone in his keep to fight the evils within.

7, Reversed: I return to my chambers and try to recall a spell of protection I can cast for my husband on his journey. I send some servants to collect the needed ingredients and spread them before me, kneeling on the floor. I reach the final step of the spell, setting wine-soaked hollyhock alight and burning the ingredients in a bowl. But it does not ignite. I try for several minutes but to no avail. I suspect the ingredients have been tampered with somehow, but the ingredients were passed through so many hands to get to me; it could have been anyone.

King: One week since my husband’s departure, and I receive a not wholly unexpected caller - Sir Priamus. We met during the War against Emperor Lucien when he and Sir Gawaian passed through my village. He was charming and well-liked by all he met.  We might have married, but shortly after, Priamus defected from Lucien’s army. My now husband’s opinion of him was quickly established and well-known: “Once a traitor, always a traitor.” After the War, he dueled Priamus, thinking him not honorable enough for knighthood. Sir Brandelis won handily and would have killed him if not for King Arthur’s direct intervention. Brandelis asked for my hand that very night, and, with Priamus unlanded and possibly going to die from his wounds, I accepted. Priamus never appears at the keep unless Sir Brandelis is away. 

He has flattering words for me and brings flowers - a temporary enough gift that will surely be gone when my husband returns. He is handsome. He knows it. To his credit, he is considerably less rugged than my traveling husband. Priamus is an old friend, and his presence is comforting.

Still - rumors can get out of hand. I treat him as any caller, and we exchange tales in the great hall. I invite him to dinner, along with a dozen courtiers, and house him in the town’s nicest tavern room.

6, Reversed: My hand brushes a metallic object on my belt - a silver crucifix. A gift from Arthur and Guinevere. I haven’t fallen prey to dark magics yet, while I’ve had it on me. One morning, it disappears. Someone had to have been in my chambers while I slept! I press my handmaiden, servants, and guards for information, but nobody has seen anything.

Act I Epistolary:

Mother, 

Running the keep has gone well for the most part- I have you to thank for that.

I am doing as well as can be expected and sleep better with the remedies you suggested. I dread the birth. There’s naught to do but pray.

Priamus visited again. It’s nice to see he’s doing well. I am both eager and fearful for his return. 

There have been some odd occurrences and the apparent theft of my silver crucifix. Such things are not unheard of. Still, it makes me think something is happening behind the scenes that I cannot quite see yet and I worry how it may affect my unborn son and me. What would you do if you were trying to uncover a scheme amongst your servants?

Your loving daughter, 

Isabel

_____________________________________________

Isabel, 

If I were trying to expose a conspiracy, I would find a servant I trusted with my life. It is my dearest hope that someone has already sprung to your mind. Do not give them any special treatment or station; meet with them secretly if you can. Have them share anything they think might be troubling and investigate without betraying your source.

Send Priamus away.

With love, 

Mother

_____________________________________________

I follow my mother’s advice forthwith. A guard, Antonious, who has long served my husband and seen personally to my well-being. He grimly accepts and promises to keep an eye out. He jockeys to guard the door to my chambers every few nights.

Act II: Swords

I take in the sorry state of my demesne. This place was ravaged by war. With all due respect to the King, his “gift” to my husband has had its fair share of curses. Still - there’s much to be done.

5: A priest petitions to erect a church within the town, but most townsfolk practice Pictish polytheism. There’s even a somewhat prominent oracle in town that pilgrims will visit. Not to mention, building a new structure within the curtain wall would require one or several buildings to be demolished. 

I allow the church to be built outside of town and suggest a hill overlooking the countryside, not a mile from town. The priest curtly thanked me upon receiving what was clearly not the result for which he was hoping. He would have at least acted grateful if he were addressing my husband.

3, reversed: A monstrous and allegedly cursed boar attacks locals in the forest. Those that attempt to hunt it come to harm by their own weapons as they strike at it. I send out some trappers to try to ensnare the beast. The attacks continue for a week… and then nothing. The boar wasn’t caught and cannot be found by hunters searching for it. I pray that the problem is resolved, but I know that fell beast is still out there - waiting to strike again. I do not share my concerns publicly. The people share this fear already.

4, reversed: I ride to one of the villages in my demesne and see a mob of villagers beating a young woman, who I recognize as the village herbalist. Over her whimpers of pain, I inquire what she has done to earn such treatment. One villager spoke up and claimed she brewed a tonic for a woman who died shortly thereafter. The villagers believe she is a murderer. I ask how many among them this herbalist has healed. A few hands raise, but the ringleader shouts, “Why would she heal some and kill others? Murderer, I say!” They continue beating her, and soon, she stops screaming. I leave knowing many more will die as a result. As I ride away, a cloaked figure seems to be watching me amongst the mob. I turn to get a better look, but they vanish in a cloud of leaves, blown away by the wind.

Act II Epistolary:

Dearest Husband,

I hope this letter finds you well; stories of the war swirl all around me. It is my dearest hope that you will return to our child and me safely. 

Your lands are doing well. I recently allowed a priest to build a Christian church on Crestfinger Hill. I hope the King learns of it and that it curries you favor. Our people may take time to warm up to it.

There was also a fell Boar that the men managed to chase off. Shouldn’t be seeing that again soon. 

Our child is growing well and strong: its kicks take the breath out of me from time to time. If it’s a son, I dare say he’ll be as strong as you one day. It would mean very much to me if you could return before the birth. 

Yours eternally, 

Lady Isabel

_____________________________________________

To the lovely Lady Isabel, 

The going has been rough and the battles hard-fought, but it is bouying to hear that you are well.

I do not know how long the campaign will last, but I will return once it is so. 

With Love, 

Sir Brandelis

Act III: Cups

My enemies are making moves, and so shall I. 

2: Antonius stops me in the hall one day and silently slips me a scroll. I get back to my quarters before unfurling it to read. It seems my steward, Finley, a pious man who tells everyone he meets about the vow of chastity he’s taken- is a regular patron of several brothels in the area and has been seeing a back alley herbalist about a case of lover’s pox he’s recently contracted. I send some discreet agents to verify his patronage and even get a few ledger entries that show extensive records of Finley’s patronage. I have him shadowed and find the herbalist he’s seeking treatment from. He seems to visit her once a week Monday morning. 

Two guards (not Antonius) and I arrive before his appointment and pay this herbalist in exchange for letting us wait for Finley to arrive. Finley is stunned to see me. I let him know what I know, the evidence I have against him, and that if he tries to seek treatment from any healer in town, I’ve generously offered to double whatever he’s willing to pay. It would be awfully hard to maintain one’s holy image if one were scratching one’s crotch like a flea-ridden hound dog at every turn. 

All this will happen unless he informs me of anyone working against me in the keep. If he agrees, I offer to pay for his treatment and conveniently forget about all the evidence I’ve collected against him. 

Finley sputters briefly and says, “Yes, of course. Thank you, my Lady.” I pass a few coins to the herbalist for his treatment and depart.

He seems sufficiently cowed, but he’s still a man backed into a corner. 

5, reversed: My grandmother sends me a letter expressing concern over a dream that she had that I will have to sacrifice myself for the good of my husband and the demesne. My first thought is that I will die in childbirth.

In all this, I realize I need to care for myself and, thus, my soon-to-be child. 

Out of character: I take a gamble here, something I can do specifically in Act III. It stands to help myself or my enemies greatly.

I take time out of my day and duties to run laps of the palace garden with the guard captain. I do some light sparring with the guards during drills to sharpen my fighting skills. I commission blades that I can conceal on my person and in places I frequent. I read what texts I could to exercise my mind.

I am ready for what may come. I will die on God’s terms or my own, not theirs.

4: Word quickly spreads that my child is not my husband’s. They claim the father to be Sir Priamus, an obvious and lazy claim. However, for some people, it rings true. I send word inquiring after Sir Gawain, whose keep is nearby. Gawain is a well-respected and pious knight, as well as Priamus's friend and fellow knight. Fortunately, he is home but soon leaving back to the war front. I invite him for a feast in his honor as he departs for the war. He accepts.

At the feast, I conspicuously ask about Sir Priamus’s whereabouts a few months ago. Gawain is happy to share that Priamus was with him in the initial thrust of the campaign, some hundreds of miles away, well before and after I became pregnant. 

The facts spread nicely and with little influence from myself. There’s still the occasionally whispered word and conspicuous side-eye in the keep and town.

Act III Epistolary

To Her Majesty the Queen Guinevere, 

I want to thank you again for trusting my husband and me to oversee this land. While my husband is fighting alongside the King to bring him glory, I have recently built a church in the demesne to begin spreading Christianity amongst the people of England. The country is still somewhat wild, but each day, we become stronger and more secure for the furtherance of Camelot. 

However, our enemy- dark magicians have infiltrated the demesne. I am a magic practitioner, but I feel this is beyond me, and I could use your assistance. The good King has his knights, and you have less conspicuous keepers of good and order.

If it is your will, I would greatly appreciate the assistance of those loyal to the crown. I would hate for such evil folk to take root, and with our husbands quite occupied with other matters, I hope you will understand.

Your humble servant,

Lady Isabel

_____________________________________________

To the esteemed Lady Isabel, 

Thank you for relaying your present situation. I have all faith that your husband and yourself shall prosper. 

As for your request, you are quite right. Such things must be nipped in the bud. Six of my agents accustomed to such difficulties are being sent forthwith to your demesne. They act on my authority, but you have my dispensation to point them at anything you think may be suspicious. Please follow their instructions if given. They know quite well what they are likely facing.

They will be in touch soon.

Your Queen,

Guinevere

Act IV

Path: Path of Illness

Clarification: A terrible plague which strikes down many in your demesne.

Measles breaks out amongst the local populace killing hundreds. I contract it soon as well. 

6, reversed: I overhear some saying that the decline in my health and of the demesne is a curse from God. That may be, but the town and area are still quite blighted despite my husband's and I’s efforts. I’m surprised it didn’t happen sooner.

8: I have a shrine to Saint Juliana of Nicomedia installed in my quarters and pray for my child's health. The Queen’s agents suspect some dark magic afoot and call for some healers from Camelot. One of the Queen’s personal healers attends to my health, and I’m soon feeling better. The baby is in good health as well. The healer tells me I am truly blessed that we both survived. 

Act V

Advantage: Me (10) vs. Enemy (6)

Major Arcana drawn: The Moon

The Queen’s agents devise a plan to lure those who tried to kill me into my chambers and ambush them. They have my Finley publicly announce that the baby and I are in good health and that my husband will return home in a fortnight.

The Queen’s agents infiltrate my staff and the town, noting the hurried messages passed, the hushed planning, and what is happening in the dark corners of the keep. Several dark magicians are planning an attack, and we know when.

The agents let the conspirators think their plan is going off without a hitch, clandestinely killing the wizards when they are alone. I wait in my bed with a short sword beneath my covers. Suddenly, my door flies open. A cloaked man stalks toward me. I feign fearfulness, begging for my life. I grip my sword as he pulls out a knife. A few steps away, there’s a crunch. The man screams and falls to the floor. Antonius crawls from under the bed with a mace. Another crunch. Then it’s over.

Antonius ensures I am unharmed. The Queen’s agents confirm this was the last magician and then round up the servants who aided them.

I have the baby in a few weeks' time, a beautiful boy. Sir Brandelis isn’t present for the birth but arrives home four days later to meet his son and heir. We name the child Hildeprand.

Arthurian Sources & Choices

Most of the material I pulled from was from Le Morte d’Arthur as well as cherry-picking from the Vulgate Cycle. The main choice for this one was: Who is my character’s husband? I didn’t really want to go with one of the big dogs since there’s just so much canon, or lack thereof, surrounding them.

After a bit of research, I had it down to Sir Brandelis, who generally fights with Arthur until the very end and is attached in various ways to Sir Gawain, or Sir Agravain, who goes to confront Lancelot and Guinevere about the infidelity and is instantly killed by Lancelot. I settled on Brandelis.

Sir Priamus seemed like an easy and obvious fit for a would-be lover as could have been set up as things progressed during the game. A traitor to his people but still a Knight of the Round Table and a Roman pretty boy.

One liberty I took was that of Guinevere’s sneaks and sorcerers. I didn’t really find anything like that, though there are the Queen’s Knights, but that’s not exactly what I was going for here. I just thought it would be neato.