Chasing Curses Part 1: Lay on Hands Actual Play

Hey! Here is part one of my Lay on Hands adventure. It’s a wonderful solo game by Alfred Valley and you can pick it up here: https://www.hausofvalley.com/product/lay-on-hands-zine

Thanks for reading LiteraTim! Subscribe for free to receive new posts and support my work.

Now, the journey:

Background

Setting

Inspiration: Painful Customs

The Fall

The Gods abandoned us. All of them, all at once. Their blessings disappearing or corrupting without their constant vigilance. Humankind could renew some of these blessings but at terrible costs- mainly curses to offset the blessings no longer supplemented by the power of the gods. Without the gods balancing the good with the bad, it takes a lot of suffering for mortals to bring about boons.

The Blight

Those cursed to live a terrible existence so that society may continue. Clerics and leaders have made an art form of maximizing suffering to increase the benefits of their rituals. Their victims, willing or not, must suffer as much as possible without dying.

The Blight likely existed before all of this, though humankind largely didn’t know about or expertly wield such power.

The Gift

Heal Souls from curses

As far as I can tell, my gift originates from a point when the bad outweighed the good on the cosmic scale, making me. Surely, there are others like me.

Clerics and leaders think that what I do will negate the blessings they maintain. I have yet to see evidence of this. They see me as a threat.

Character

Joseph the Chaser

Mantra: The Ways Of Old Lead Evil To Naught

Heavy, ragged robes with many pockets. Long beard and a bald head.

Pride: The innocent shouldn’t suffer

Pitfall: I think I’m better than the vast majority of people

Big Covenant

All the kids in my village suddenly fell asleep and could not be awoken. This is certainly a sign that the Mountain Priests many miles away are actually attempting the apotheosis ritual that’s been whispered about. If the cosmic scales were so unbalanced when the gods left, the creation of one or several gods would certainly doom life in the region, if not the planet. Someone must help them see reason or stop them from succeeding.

  • Reach the Mountains
  • Brave the perils of the Mountains to reach The Temple
  • Convince or otherwise stop the Mountain Priests from attempting the Apotheosis Ritual

The Journey- Part 1

Firstly, I need to ensure the children of the village can awaken or at absolute least be safe in their current state. I attempt to awaken them from the sleeping curse, no doubt caused by some larger ritual. 

Contend Challenge 2+2-1 (Speaking in Tongues) = 3

Skill Test Result- 3 + Forced Heads because of candles

After several hours the children slowly begin to awaken, starting with the smallest. Soon, though groggy, they return to their families, who are extremely grateful. I bid them goodbye as I strike out towards the mountains. 

(Consulting Oracle) The Lightning

A massive storm whips up, sending heavy rain, wind, and hail down upon me. I could make some good time if I can push through, though it would be perilous. 

Defy Challenge (Grit) 3+3-1 Spirit= 5 (Personal note: Fuuuuuuuuck)

Skill Test Result- 2 with disadvantage (Ill-Prepared) 

I continue walking through the night, and the storm doesn’t end. Progress is slow, and I become somewhat hypothermic. I pull through but feel weaker for it. -1 Stamina

(Consulting Oracle) The Shovel

There is a road to where I’m going; unfortunately, it’s still being built. Workers gawk at me as I pass just off to the side of the road. The going is a bit rougher than I’d hoped. 

Progress Challenge Oracle 1 vs Spur 4

Result: Success + Dilemma

I make good headway on the uneven terrain. I eventually arrive at the workers’ camp, where I’m approached by the supervisor. “You’re one of those exorcist types, right?” Apparently, numerous workers’ tools became fused to their hands and arms yesterday, and these people, workers under the age of 20, also fell victim to the sleeping curse that the children in my village did. She asks for my help removing the sleeping curse but does not want me to remove the tools from the victim’s hands, thinking it will improve efficiency.

New Covenant- The Work Camp

  • Awaken the young people from the sleeping curse
  • Convince the supervisor that keeping tools fused to workers’ bodies is dumb as hell 
    • If convinced, remove the tools.
    • Failing that, try to make the victims as comfortable as possible with their new… anatomy.

I ask the supervisor how she intends to replace the fused tools once they break. 

Contend Challenge (Wits) 2+2 -1 Persuading= 3

Skill Test Result- 3

She argues that they could be refitted in most cases. I argue that having a workforce that can comfortably eat and sleep is probably more useful. She agrees to let me fully treat the workers.

First, the sleeping curse.

Contend Challenge (Wits) 2+2-1 Speaking in Tongues. (Advantage, done this before) = 3

Skill Test Result- 3 (advantage)

As before, the smallest victims wake up first, and soon they all awaken. I realize maybe I should have removed the tools while they were still sleeping cause this is going to be kind of horrific to witness, actually. 

Defy Challenge (Wits) 3+2-1 Grappling -1 Spirit= 3

Skill Test Result- 5 (advantage Tarnished Manacles)

Acting on Pride- +1 Spirit

I’m able to restrain the victims and go through the arduous process of removing the fused tools from their bodies. Astonishingly, all the workers' limbs regain full function, and none of them injure me in the process, not for lack of trying. 

The supervisor is extremely grateful for my work, and I must admit, even for me, this was good stuff. She asks what she can do for me. I ask her to fill my pack with any spare candles and a means of transport as far as it will take me. She agrees to both, finding room for me on a transport wagon bound for the far end of the construction. I thank her.

Covenant Completed: The Work Camp

The wagon stops off at a small railroad town for supplies, and so do I. The mountains are now in view

(Consulting Oracle) The Seed

Besides the train tracks, the land between the town and the mountains is completely barren.

Progress Challenge- Result 1 vs. 3 Spur = Success

The lack of life proves advantageous, and I’m able to reach the mountains in about a day and a half.

Big Covenant Step Completed: Reach the mountains

The mountains before me are imposing. The barren stretch clearly ends here with towering pines looming. The peaks are eroded sharply. A foreboding chill. There’s a reason people don’t go to this range unless they must. There’s a reason those who are here can’t leave.

And that’s all for now! More this year.